January 29 2019

New CBCA Obligation: Record of Individuals with a significant control

Archambault Julie-Anne

Is your business incorporated under Canadian law? Then the following article concerns you, pay close attention!

Few amendments have been made to the Canada Business Corporations Act ("CBCA") since it was originally adopted in 1975. The CBCA has undergone some amendments in 2018  and, more recently, Bill C-86 proposed amendments the CBCA in respect to the keeping of corporate records of private corporations. This bill received Royal Assent on December 13, 2018 and the amendments will finally come into force on June 13, 2019 .

These new provisions were inspired by the noble purpose of preventing "the misuse of corporations and other legal entities for tax evasion and other criminal purposes, such as money laundering, corruption and the financing of terrorist activities" .

A new concept is therefore added to the CBCA, that is, the notion of "individual with significant control" ("IWSC"). It is actually a person (or group of people) with a significant control of a company, whether it be legal or factual control over a significant number of shares. A significant number of shares is defined as 25% or more of the outstanding voting shares of the Corporation, or 25% or more of the fair market value of all outstanding shares of the Corporation.

Private companies will henceforth be required to keep a record of IWSC. This register must include, for each IWSC, the following information:

(a) name, date of birth and last known address;
(b) jurisdiction of residence, for tax purposes;
(c) the date on which a IWSC acquired that qualification, or ceased to have it;
(d) a description of how the significant control over the corporation applies, including, where applicable, a description of the rights or interests in the shares of the corporation;
(e) any other prescribed information; and
(f) a description of each step taken in order to keep the information in the register accurate, complete and up-to-date.

At least once in each fiscal year, the company must take the necessary steps to keep the register up-to-date.

Another interesting feature is that the company will have to withdraw the information contained in the register  no later than one year after the sixth anniversary of the date on which an IWSC lost this qualification, but subject to any other time limit applicable under another federal or provincial law.

Shareholders and creditors of the Company and their personal representatives may, upon request, consult the IWSC register, provided, however, that an affidavit stating that the information will not be used for prohibited purposes, in particular for solicitations beyond the scope of the company's internal affairs.

The company that violates this new record keeping obligation commits an offense and can incur a maximum fine of $ 5,000. The director or officer of a corporation that knowingly authorizes or permits a contravention, or transmits false or misleading information, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted, will be subject to a monetary penalty of $ 200,000 or to a 6-month prison sentence; the same applies to shareholders who submit false or misleading information.

In short, this new measure aims to enhance the transparency of beneficial ownership of the shares of a private company under federal jurisdiction.

An implementing regulation should clarify some of the new provisions. It is also expected that provincial laws will be updated in the near future, similar to the CBCA.

Many companies will want to revise their ways to comply with these new provisions; LJT's commercial law team is there to assist you in these steps. Please contact Ms. Julie-Anne Archambault for more information at julie-anne.archambault@ljt.ca or 514 370-2438.

References:


1) These include the election of directors, electronic communications and diversity on the board of directors.
2) To view Bill online : http://www.parl.ca/DocumentViewer/en/42-1/bill/C-86/royal-assent?col=2.
3) Agreement to Strengthen Beneficial Ownership Transparency Between Federal and Provincial Finance Ministers in December 2017, online : https://www.fin.gc.ca/n17/data/17-122_4-eng.asp.
4) In the sense of paragraph 2(1) of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act  (S.C. 2000, c. 5).



Did you know that ...

Some projects, of a sporadic nature, can very well be managed as a joint venture established on a contractual basis, whereas a joint project with a high level of risk more often necessitates the creation of a corporate joint venture.

Archambault Julie-Anne
Julie-Anne Archambault
Ms. Julie-Anne Archambault practices in business law, mainly in information technologies and intellectual property.
Consult detailled bio

Conferences

More conferences

Publications

2015 April 27

Anti-Spam Legislation New Requirements: Installation of Software

On January 15, 2015, new provisions of Canada’s Anti-Spam legislation regarding computer programs came into force. As this legislation is the first of its kind internationally, it is not surprising that its application is misunderstood. If your business operates in the technology sector or if you install computer programs as part of your commercial activities, do not panic and read on!

More publications

To know more...

For any question, please do not hesitate to contact us

Legault Joly Thiffault (LJT) Lawyers
World Trade Center
380, Saint-Antoine St. West, Suite 7100, Montreal, Province of Quebec, H2Y 3X7
Tel.: 514 842-8891 Fax: 514 842-6202
Email info@ljt.ca

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

29 janvier 2019

Nouvelle obligation sous la LCSA : tenue d’un registre des Particuliers ayant un contrôle important

Archambault Julie-Anne

Votre compagnie est constituée en vertu de la loi fédérale? Restez attentif, ce qui suit vous concerne!

Peu de modifications ont été adoptées à la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actionsLCSA ») depuis son adoption initiale en 1975. La LCSA a subi quelques modifications en 2018  et, plus récemment, le projet de loi C-86 proposait des modifications à la LCSA concernant la tenue des registres corporatifs des sociétés privées. Ce projet de loi a obtenu la sanction royale le 13 décembre 2018 et les modifications entreront enfin en vigueur le 13 juin 2019 .

Ces nouvelles dispositions s’inspirent d’un but noble, soit « empêcher l'utilisation abusive de sociétés et d'autres types de personnes morales à des fins d'évasion fiscale et à d'autres fins criminelles, telles que le blanchiment de capitaux, la corruption et le financement d'activités terroristes » .

Une notion nouvelle s’ajoute donc à la LCSA, c’est-à-dire la notion de « particulier ayant un contrôle important » (« PACI »). Il s’agit en fait d’une personne (ou d’un groupe de personnes) ayant un contrôle jugé important d’une société, que ce soit un contrôle de droit ou de fait, relativement à un nombre important d’actions. Un nombre important d’actions se définit comme étant 25 % ou plus des actions votantes en circulation de la société, ou encore, 25 % ou plus de la juste valeur marchande de l’ensemble des actions en circulation de la société.

Les sociétés fermées auront donc dorénavant l’obligation de tenir un registre des PACIs. Ce registre devra comporter, pour chaque PACI, les informations suivantes :

a) nom, date de naissance et dernière adresse connue;
b) juridiction de résidence, à des fins fiscales;
c) date à laquelle un PACI a acquis cette qualification, ou a cessé de l’avoir;
d) description de la manière dont s’applique le contrôle important de la société, notamment, s’il y a lieu, une description des droits ou intérêts relativement aux actions de la société;
e) tout autre renseignement réglementaire; et
f) chaque mesure prise afin de s’assurer que les renseignements inscrits au registre sont exacts, exhaustifs et à jour.

Au moins une fois au cours de chaque exercice, la société devra prendre les mesures qui s’imposent afin de maintenir ce registre à jour.

Autre particularité intéressante, la société devra procéder au retrait des informations contenues au registre  au plus tard un an après le sixième anniversaire de la date où un PACI a perdu cette qualification, mais sous réserve toutefois de tout autre délai applicable en vertu d’une autre loi fédérale ou provinciale.

Les actionnaires et les créanciers de la société ainsi que leurs représentants personnels peuvent, sur demande, consulter le registre des PACIs, à la condition toutefois de fournir un affidavit déclarant que les renseignements ne seront pas utilisés à des fins interdites, notamment à des fins de sollicitation dépassant le cadre des affaires internes de la société.

La société qui contrevient à cette nouvelle obligation de tenue de registre commet une infraction et peut encourir une amende maximale de 5 000 $. L’administrateur ou le dirigeant d’une société qui, sciemment, autorisera ou permettra une contravention, ou encore transmettra des informations fausses ou trompeuses, que la société soit ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable, s’exposera à des sanctions pécuniaires de 200 000 $ ou encore à une peine de 6 mois de prison; il en va de même pour l’actionnaire qui présente des renseignements faux ou trompeurs.

En somme, cette nouvelle mesure vise à renforcer la transparence de la propriété effective des actions d’une société privée de juridiction fédérale.

Un règlement d’application devrait venir préciser certaines des nouvelles dispositions. Il est également à prévoir que les lois provinciales subiront une mise à jour dans un avenir rapproché, à l’instar de la LCSA.

Bon nombre de sociétés voudront réviser leurs façons de faire afin de respecter ces nouvelles dispositions, l’équipe de droit commercial de LJT est là pour vous accompagner dans ces démarches. Si vous désirez de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, n’hésitez pas à contacter Me Julie-Anne Archambault à julie-anne.archambault@ljt.ca ou 514 370-2438.

Références :

1) Notamment en matière d’élection des administrateurs, de communications électroniques et de la diversité au sein des conseils d’administration.
2) Pour consulter le projet de loi en ligne : http://www.parl.ca/DocumentViewer/fr/42-1/projet-loi/C-86/sanction-royal?col=2
3) Entente en vue de renforcer la transparence de la propriété effective intervenue entre les ministres des Finances fédéral et provinciaux intervenue en décembre 2017, en ligne : https://www.fin.gc.ca/n17/data/17-122_4-fra.asp.
4) Au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (L.C. 2000, ch. 5).



Saviez-vous que...

Avec votre permis d’études, vous pourriez être autorisé à travailler jusqu’à 20 heures par semaine pendant les sessions d’études régulières et travailler à temps plein pendant les congés prévus au calendrier scolaire, comme les vacances d’hiver ou d’été, ou la semaine de relâche.

Archambault Julie-Anne
Julie-Anne Archambault
Me Archambault pratique le droit des affaires principalement en droit des TIC et en droit de la propriété intellectuelle.
Consulter sa fiche

Conférences

Autres conférences

Publications

27 avril 2015

La suite de la loi antipourriel : l’installation de logiciels

Les dispositions de la loi antipourriel relatives aux programmes d’ordinateur sont entrées en vigueur le 15 janvier dernier. Étant la première législation de cette nature à l’international, rien d’étonnant à ce que le sujet demeure obscur. Si votre entreprise œuvre dans le domaine des technologies ou si vous installez des programmes informatiques dans le cadre d’activités commerciales, cet article vous concerne!

Autres publications

En savoir plus

Pour toute question, n’hésitez pas à nous joindre

Legault Joly Thiffault (LJT) Avocats
Centre de Commerce Mondial
380, rue Saint-Antoine Ouest, bureau 7100
Montréal (Québec) H2Y 3X7
Tél. : 514 842-8891 Téléc. : 514 842-6202
Courriel : info@ljt.ca

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)